Lyng Hall

a trust school and specialist sports college

Admin Slider

Governing Body and Committees

The Governing Body are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role to play in promoting high standards of educational achievement and making sure that every child fulfils their potential.   Governors have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Hold the Headteacher to account for the education performance of the school and its pupils;
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

With this is mind, the Governing Body structure consists of the following committees:

  • Standards
  • Finance and Resources (Health & Safety)
  • Inclusion & Safeguarding

 Additionally, there are Governors with responsibility for Performance Management and an SEN Governor.

Governor Responsibilities & Interests
Name Status Appointed Responsibilty/Committee Area Interest (Pecuniary, Business, Governance Roles)
Paul     Green Headteacher/Governor 01/01/2004 Headteacher Lyng Hall School
Ghulam Vohra Chair/Co-Opted 14/11/1996 Local Governing Body Education/Finance/Inclusion Governor at Eden Girls School

Robert   Nash

Co-Opted 20/03/2000 Local Governing Body Education/Finance
Angela Byrne Co-Opted 23/05/2015 Local Governing Body Finance/H&S
Sylvia Youngjohns   Co-Opted 13/11/1997 Local Governing Body Inclusion
Ashok Kapur Vice Chair/Co-Opted 13/11/1997 Local Governing Body Finance Owner - Cat Ballou Originals
Narendra Gandhi Co-Opted 11/03/2004 Local Governing Body Inclusion/H&S
Julie   Sellers Staff Governor 15/03/2012 Local Governing Body Finance/H&S/Inclusion/Buildings/Finance
Kylie  Ingram Staff Governor 27/02/2013 Local Governing Body Inclusion/SEN Leadership
Alan    Rouse Parent Governor 15/11/2004 Local Governing Body Inclusion/H&S/SEN Link Governor
Lisa Gascoigne         Parent Governor 29/11/2010 Local Governing Body Inclusion/H&S/Catering/Hygiene
Meetings attended - September 2016 - July 2017
Governor Full Governors' meetings
Paul     Green 3 of 3
Ghulam Vohra 3 of 3
Robert   Nash 3 of 3
Angela Byrne 2 of 3
Sylvia Youngjohns 2 of 3
Ashok Kapur 1 of 3
Narendra Gandhi 2 of 3
Julie   Sellers 2 of 3
Kylie Ingram 2 of 3
Alan    Rouse 3 of 3
Lisa Gascoigne 2 of 3


Declaration of Business Interests:

Ghulam Vohra - Governor at Eden Girls' School

Ashok Kapur - Proprietor of Cat Ballou

Governing Body and Committees

The Governing Body Structure consists of Local Authority Governors, Foundation Governors, Parent Governors, Co-opted Governors and Staff Governors: